Last week Dooce ranted about the haters on the Internet. Because I'm clearly avoiding doing something more profitable with my time, I spent an hour googling and searching Twitter to see what the haters were saying. (I'm not proud.) This led me down a blackhole of hate websites.
There are apparently dozens of websites that are devoted to mocking Dooce and Pioneer Woman. One website had elaborate photographs of dolls dressed up to look like the bloggers. Yes, dolls. Some blog posts had hundreds of comments. That sort of dedication towards hating a complete stranger is so crazy that it's almost inspiring. (Sorry. No links to this stuff.)
What's the hate about? In Dooce's case, some people were pissed off about the separation from her husband, but that was a minor complaint. Most people hated Dooce and Pioneer Woman because they've made a lot of money from blogging. She used to be like me, but then she got rich and now she has a diamond covered driveway. Apparently, Dooce makes $40K a month in advertising revenue and PW makes more.
Now, I totally get rich people hatred, especially when the rich person is clueless. In this crappy economy, even middle class people have to be sensitive about these matters. I strongly believe in a highly progressive tax system and creating a better education system to help to rectify inequalities. But maybe, just maybe, rich people hatred can be a little counter productive.
